2h 15min

I started a new hobby: acting and improvisation! This was my first lesson, and it was extremely exciting since I've never done acting or improvisation before. We have two teachers who alternate in teaching us. So far me and another retired lady are the only ones who have no background in acting. Most of the people there are middle-aged, only one man, and they all have done acting for many years. One woman actually aims to be a professional, and I really don't think our group is her best bet since our group focuses on improvisation and "just for fun" type of things whereas she has already starred five movies in two months. Well, the first lesson took forever. I don't think I've realised before how long it takes because I got really hungry. I'll remember to bring snacks next time. First we played different games to get to know each other, and it made me feel like this was just a playgroup for adults but towards the end we started improvisation. It was so much fun! Though I wasn't very good at it since it purely based on unexpected things to happen, and when we actually started it I wasn't even aware that we were going to improvise. I just thought it was another game but I guess that's the point: the teacher tells you to do something but then the game changes in the course of the play. Improvisation requires quick witty remarks and vast vocabulary which is good because my Finnish is getting pretty rusty (the class is in Finnish). I'm really looking forward to the next lesson when I know a little bit better what to expect (and to bring snacks). We are also going to start working on either our winter or spring performance soon.